Cassandra Clare


♦ The Shadowhunter Chronicles

The Mortal Instruments (6 books)

New York is the city that never sleeps — but evil spirits, angels, warlocks, faeries and shadow-hunters don’t need much rest anyway. The city is home to Cassandra Clare’s young-adult debut novel, a cool, pleasingly dark and spicy urban fantasy called City of Bones.

— Kirkus Reviews

“Clare’s atmospheric setting is spot-on, informed equally by neo-gothic horror films and the modern fantasy leanings of Neil Gaiman. Werewolves, vampires, angels and fairies all fit in this ambitious milieu. At the core, though, this is a compelling story about family secrets and coming-of-age identity crises. Fans of the smart/chic horror typified by Buffy the Vampire Slayer will instantly fall for this new series.”

— Publisher’s Weekly

  • capa-nova-city-of-bones
  • 9781481455978_l
  • ce0v2pjusaav1c1
  • 51BE+hzIcyL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
  • city-of-lost-souls1
  • ce1ymzew0aee8md

The Mortal Instruments series has been translated into over 34 languages.  You can see a variety of the international covers for the books here.

The Infernal Devices (3 books)


“Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel has got everything: set in Victorian London but with an American heroine — feisty and attractive, natch; it features the Nephilim, a category of quasi-angelic beings (remember Genesis, about there being giants in the world in those days?) and some interesting vampires . . . one of the Nephilim falls for the heroine but can’t, for unspoken reasons, consummate his longing . . .the human elements of the story are well told. Have to say, it’s a cracking read.”

–The Evening Standard

  • CA_cover,_repackaged
  • 6f74df32a6998118604743e33ba9f5f5
  • clockwork-princess

The Dark Artifices (3 books)


Los Angeles, 2012. It’s been five years since the events of the Mortal Instruments when Nephilim stood poised on the brink of oblivion and Shadowhunter Emma Carstairs lost her parents. Raised in the Los Angeles Institute, Emma is paired as a parabatai with her best friend, Julian. As Emma hunts those who caused the death of her parents, the trail they’re following leads back to those they’ve always been taught to trust. At the same time, Emma is falling in love with the one person in the world she’s absolutely forbidden by Shadowhunter Law to love. Set against the glittering backdrop of present-day Los Angeles, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches from the courts of Faerie to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica.

The first book of the Dark Artifices, Lady Midnight, will be published in March 2016.

You can read extras about the characters and plot of the Dark Artifices here, compiled by Cat.

  • Lady Midnight
  • Coming Soon! Lord of Shadows
  • Coming Soon! Queen of Air and Darkness

The Last Hours (3 books)


The Last Hours is a new Shadowhunters trilogy set in 1903. It deals with the next generation after Will, Tessa and Jem as well as Charlotte and Henry’s children, Tatiana Blackthorn’s children, the Lightwood kids, and many more. 1903 is right around the time the Victorian era tips over into the Edwardian era — beautiful clothes, fabulous history and so much more that I’m excited to write about!

    The Bane Chronicles (10 installments)

    with Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson

    TBC_coverEver wondered about the enigmatic, mysterious warlock Magnus Bane? The only character to appear in every Shadowhunter book, Magnus has a past even more shrouded in mystery than his present. I’ve teamed up with acclaimed YA writers Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan to create the Bane Chronicles, the backstory of Magnus told in ten linked stories.

    The first installment of the The Bane Chronicles will be available in April 2013.

    You can read more about The Bane Chronicles here.

      The Shadowhunter’s Codex

      A Guide to the World of the Nephilim

      The Shadowhunters CodexWith Valentine Morgenstern’s plan to disrupt the Shadowhunters’ world foiled, her mother awake from her coma, and her relationship with Jace Wayland finally getting off the ground, Clary Fray’s life has finally calmed down a little—just in time for her to begin training to fulfill her destiny and become a Shadowhunter, like her mother before her. She’ll immerse herself in their history, in their magic, in the Downworld of vampires and warlocks. She’ll learn to fight, to identify demons, to know the Shadowhunters’ places and territories like the back of her hand. And she’s racing to catch up with her fellow Shadowhunters, who have been doing this a lot longer than she has. Doesn’t mean she can’t have a little fun, of course…

      The Shadowhunters’ Codex is intended as a guide for fans to the world of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. It provides a concordance to the many fantastical creatures, places, and things of the books, but also fleshes out the world of the Shadowhunters with new details, new monsters, new runes, new magic.

      The Codex is the Codex itself, a textbook for new Shadowhunters, and also notes and art added in by Clary, commenting and updating things. (For one thing, the Codex’s official take on things is often not quite the same as what Clary knows to be true. The facts it claims about warlocks alone are outrageously incorrect!) It also contains many stories not yet touched upon in the Shadowhunter novels: the story of Jonathan Shadowhunter and how the Shadowhunters came to be, the creation of the Silent Brothers, the invention of parabatai and much more.

      Unlike the Shadowhunters novels, but befitting an encyclopedia of their world, the Codex’s articles are illustrated by a number of great fantasy illustrators: Rebecca Guay, Charles Vess, Jim Nelson, Theo Black, John Dollar, Michael Kaluta, Elisabeth Alba, and Cassandra Jean.

      It will be available for purchase by mundanes in late fall 2013.

      Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

      1-largeLike The Bane Chronicles, Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy series is written by Cassandra Clare in collaboration with fellow authors and friends, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman. Released once a month as e-novellas, the series follows the adventures of Simon Lewis, one of the stars of Cassandra Clare’s internationally bestselling series The Mortal Instruments, as he trains to become a Shadowhunter. Throughout the course of Simon’s education, characters from the Mortal Instruments and theInfernal Devices will make appearances, as will characters from the upcoming Dark Artifices and Last Hours series. Once a mundane, then a vampire, Simon prepares to enter the next phase of his life: Shadowhunter.

      The Magisterium (5 books)

      cowritten with Holly Black

      Twelve-year-old Callum Hunt has grown up knowing three rules by heart. Never trust a magician. Never pass a test a magician gives you. And never let a magician take you to the Magisterium.

      Call is about to break all the rules. And when he does, his life will change in ways he can’t possibly imagine.

      The Magisterium series is a five-book series of fantasy novels, one book for each year of Call’s life between twelve and seventeen, cowritten with Holly Black (author of The Spiderwick Chronicles and the Modern Faerie Tale series) about Call Hunt and his adventures. The first book, The Iron Trial, was published by Scholastic Books in 2014. The second, The Copper Gauntlet, will be released September 1, 2015.

      Learn more about The Magisterium Series here.

      • The_Iron_Trial_cover
      • coppergauntlet
      • I1367534LASER.pdf

      Want to receive author alerts for Cassandra Clare?

      Be the first to know about Cassandra Clare events, books and more! Subscribe to her mailing list!

      * indicates required